Gaia's Hut Health Lounge

Feed yourself into radiant health and unashamed lightness

Radiant cake challenge for my little one’s birthday

Leave a comment

My son Veles will be 2 very soon and we are having a birthday party for him in 3 weeks time. I am determined to find a recipe for a delicious toddler-friendly and health-friendly cake. We all like a slice of nice cake with a cup of herbal tea in the family but we are certainly not prepared to compromise on our and our children’s health! And anyway, we find classic white cake with sugary icing so sickly sweet and uninspiring! And it is not something that I would even think of offering to the little ones. So last year, for my little boy’s first birthday I found a great tasting, health giving solution – Thai Pumpkin Pudding, which I shaped and decorated like cake. The 1 year olds were munching away, and our older little guests liked it too – look at the picture showing them devouring the pudding.

Veles's first birthday cake

Veles’s first birthday cake

_MG_1122(1)

I modified the recipe, which I found on http://www.grouprecipes.com to get rid of the ‘white stuff’ – the refined rice flour and cain sugar, and replaced it with whole grain brown rice flour and honey and coconut sugar. A bit more expensive but since I don’t have to spend money on meat, coffee, cigarettes and cable TV, I am happy to invest a bit more in our health. So here is the recipe, my version:

3 cups pumpkin or any orange winter squash, grated finely

1/2 pack creamed coconut

1/2 can coconut milk

1/4 cup tapioca flour or corn flour

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1 tbsp arrowroot starch

2 tbsp honey, 2-3 tbsp coconut sugar

1/8 tsp sea salt

  • Mix tapioca flour, rice flour and arrowroot starch together. Gradually add melted creamed coconut, stir constantly until all the coconut cream is used up.
  • Add coconut sugar, honey, pumpkin, salt and coconut milk, continue stirring until sugar, honey and salt are all dissolved.
  • Pour the mixture into a baking tin, spread out evenly, steam over boiling water for 40-50 minutes or until done. Remove from the heat and allow to cool. If using as a birthday cake, decorate with sliced fruit.                                                                                                                                                                 Now, this was a real success, but I’m not stopping there. In these 3 weeks I am going to try 6 different radiant cake recipes. When I  say radiant, I mean they should be gentle for the sensitive little tums, so no refined high gluten flours or high amount of fat; they should not unbalance their blood sugar, so no high glycaemic refined sweeteners, like cane sugar; they should have high nutritional value rather than empty calories. And of course, they should LOOK AND TASTE GREAT! I have already made these 2 gorgeous RAW cakes, so  watch this space, I will be posting the _MG_8450                                                                    first two recipes in a couple of days. _MG_8410Veles loved the chocolate ganache one (yes, it is good for your health to eat chocolate ganache!:-), but he hasn’t had a chance to try the citrus cheesecake yet. My husband loved them both and Arisha was too busy hanging out with friends, so we’ve hardly seen her in these couple of days. Oh, well, I guess that’s the age.
    Wish you radiant health and unashamed lightness.
    Sungita
Leave a Reply

